Bendigo and Adelaide Bank announces new chair

  • By Kate Weber

Bendigo and Adelaide Bank today announced that Jacqueline Hey will be the next chair.  

Hey will succeed Robert Johanson who will retire from the board after 31 years as a director, the last 13 as chair, at the Annual General Meeting on 29th, October 2019. 

Commenting on the announcement, Hey said she was “honoured” to be appointed by the board and is excited by the opportunity to continue to drive a “competitive market position and prosperity” for customers and shareholders.

Hey also said the bank will continue to put consumers first with a focus on "empowering them simply, authentically and more seamlessly.”

“Our future remains putting customers and communities at the heart of our business.

“We have a huge opportunity to drive our competitive market position and prosperity for our customers, partners, shareholders and communities as we strive to be Australia’s bank of choice. 

“This is supported by our enviable position of trust and solid history of innovation and partnership through our deeply connected and authentic workforce. 

“Our products are more than banking and we will continue to aim to make it easy for our customers and partners to do business with us and our employees to work.”

Previously, Hey was the CEO of Ericsson in the UK and Australia, and is currently a non-executive director of Qantas, AGL and Cricket Australia.

Hey said she looks forward to starting her new role with the bank. 

“I look forward to working with everybody connected with Bendigo and Adelaide Bank as we strive to be Australia’s bank of choice,” concluded Hey.

Chairman, Robert Johanson said he was “delighted” by the board’s decision to appoint Hey as the next chair of the bank. 

“She has great business experience and now with deep knowledge of the business and effective engagement with our key stakeholders. 

“This will ensure we continue to deliver better outcomes for staff, customers, partners and shareholders,” said Johanson.