Former stockbroker to join ANZ NZ board

  • By Elizabeth Fry

ANZ Bank NZ has appointed former stockbroker Scott St John to the board replacing Tony Carter subject to the central bank’s signoff. 

St John will replace Tony Carter on ANZ's board, which is chaired by former prime minister John Key. Carter has been on the board of the country's largest bank for nearly 10 years and will retire from the board in August, the lender said in a release on Tuesday. 

St John currently chairs Fisher & Paykel Healthcare and sits on the Fonterra and Mercury boards. 

He was the University of Auckland chancellor from 2017 to June 2021, a member of the Capital Markets Development Taskforce and the Financial Markets Authority Establishment board. He has also chaired the Security Industry Association. 

St John was the chief executive of First New Zealand Capital, now called Jarden for 15 years until he resigned in 2016 to take up directorships. 

Current members of the ANZ NZ Board include Alison Gerry, Mark Verbiest, Joan Withers, ANZ group chief executive Shayne Elliott, ANZ group executive digital Maile Carnegie, and ANZ NZ head Antonia Watson.