Glenn Stevens to chair Macquarie

  • By Zilla Efrat

Former Reserve Bank of Australia Governor, Glenn Stevens, will step up as the next chair of Macquarie Group (MGL) and Macquarie Bank (MBL) in early May 2022.

He replaces Peter Warne who retires after the 2022 full-year results announcement.

Diane Grady, who has been a voting director of both MGL and MBL for over 10 years, will retire after a board meeting scheduled for 24 February 2022.

Warne has been chair of the MGL and MBL boards since April 2016 and a director of both entities since 2007.

Stevens was appointed as an independent voting director of MGL and MBL in November 2017 and has chaired the board risk committee since November 2019. He also serves as a member of the board audit and board nominating committees.

Stevens worked at the highest levels of the RBA for 20 years. He developed Australia’s successful inflation targeting framework for monetary policy and played a significant role in central banking internationally.

He has made strong contributions to several Australian and international boards and committees, including as chair of the Australian Council of Financial Regulators between 2006 and 2016, member of the Financial Stability Board and on a range of G20 committees. He is currently a board member of NSW Treasury Corporation