RBNZ’s top economist to depart after 25 years

  • By Zilla Efrat

The Reserve Bank of New Zealand’s head of economics and chief economist, Yuong Ha, is set to will leave next year after 25 years with RBNZ.

Ha, who has been with the RBNZ since 1997, and is an internal member of the Monetary Policy Committee, will leave both roles next year.

He will depart after the February 2022 Monetary Policy Statement.

Ha’s position on the Monetary Policy Committee will be filled in accordance with the requirements in the RBNZ Act, with the RBNZ board (including the Governor) and Minister responsible for appointing a suitable candidate from within the RBNZ.

The current Monetary Policy Committee is made up of RBNZ members: Governor Adrian Orr, Deputy Governor Geoff Bascand (until January 2022), Christian Hawkesby (who becomes Deputy Governor in January 2022) and Yuong Ha, and External Members: Professor Caroline Saunders, Professor Bob Buckle and Peter Harris.