Teachers Mutual chair steps down

  • By AB+F Editorial

Teachers Mutual Bank chair John Kouimanos has stepped down for personal and family reasons but will remain as a director of the bank. Current director Maree O’Halloran has been elected as the new chair.  

Chair since 2008, Kouimanos has been instrumental in steering the growth and development of the mutual bank from its earlier days as Teachers Credit Union through to the multi-branded financial institution Teachers Mutual Bank Limited is today.

“We are enormously grateful to John for his service as chair, and his continued service now as a Director,” said Teachers Mutual Bank CEO Steve James. 

“Anyone who knows John understands how passionate he is about Teachers Mutual Bank Limited, and the mutual banking sector in general.  The depth of his contribution and wisdom over the years is immeasurable.”  

O’Halloran, AM joined the Board in October 2009.  Currently a senior associate at NEW Law, she was the Director of the Welfare Rights Centre for seven years where she also practised as a solicitor.  

O’Halloran is a former president of the NSW Teachers Federation and has served as a member of the NSW Public Service Commission Advisory Board, a director of Teachers Federation Health and the SAS Trustee Corporation. 

She was awarded the Member of the Order of Australia in the 2011 Australia Day Honours List, in recognition of her service to industrial relations and the education sector.

Teachers Mutual Bank Limited has a strong record on gender diversity.  Women currently make up 50 per cent of its board, and 46 per cent of its management.  O’Halloran is the second woman to chair the Bank – the first was in 1968.